Never Assume

Symbie

Wagging the Tail to Throne

Ever since childhood, I loved dogs. Baba (my father) played an instrumental role in connecting with these wonderful animals. A lovely Indian Pariah used to frequent us. Baba called her “Queen Elizabeth who wags her tail to the throne!!!”  We never got his political jokes. But they were funny! We laughed and Queen wagged her tail happily!!!I loved that sight.

“Why do dogs wag their tails?” I asked one day.

“Becuase when they are happy they show it.” Baba used to strike some awesome smilies. “They’re happy even if they don’t get any Laddus…, unlike some people.”  He was referring to me as I was upset for not being allowed more than two Laddus at a wedding. “Now you know, why dogs wag their tail…!” he continued.

“Is it..?!” The tiny ego of a 4-year-old was hurt after all! “Dogs should shake their heads when they are angry then.” I countered with the wee bit of developed intellect and instinct of an inquisitive child.

“Hold it there, young man,” Baba said in an authoritative voice of a good father. “Have you ever seen a dog shaking his head in anger?”

” No…” my voice trembled. Baba did not like anything that was wrong. “My friend says that they bark loudly, when angry. But…, I don’t think so.” I replied. What my Dad said next was just epic dad-son chat which I’ll never forget in life. He said and I quote:

“Believe in yourself,
Never Assume.
Always speak up if you don’t understand
Else speak against if incorrect.
But Never Assume.”

What's your perspective?

